Disappointing Proc Rate on the Ashen Verdict Tank Ring


My beloved ring … and no, I’m not exalted yet, I haven’t farmed that much rep!

I guess I expected too much out of my Ashen Band of Unmatched Courage ring proc. Now that I’ve got the revered version, the proc rate seems to be a lot lower than I expected.

After seeing @Protadin talk about his ring on twitter, I took a look at my own combat logs to see how often mine (and my MT’s) was proccing. Appeared to be much lower than I expected; every 1-3 minutes depending on how much I was being hit by things. Hmm.

Luckily there are people at Maintankadin and Tankspot who have looked into this before and done more extensive testing than my unofficial “search my combat logs and make assumptions based on encounters” approach. The ring appears to have a 2 or 3% proc rate with a 60 second ICD.

From a Maintankadin thread:

Definitely a 60-second ICD with an average time to proc of 0.08 minutes or 4.55 seconds when I had an average of 6.6 hits incoming per second. (21,705 hits over 55 minutes) … at a glance, it looks to me like the 3% proc rate listed on Wowhead is accurate.

Bonus links to a Tankspot thread where it is discussed, and another Tankspot thread.

I guess I set my expectations too high. I remember taking a look at the ring and drooling over the armor proc, imagining having a mini version of The Black Heart in a ring slot. Remember how often that baby used to proc? Back in the day? I loved that trinket.

But honestly, thinking about the ring as a whole, there’s really no reason to be disappointed. The ring has great stats (hit!! HIT!!!!), and with my raid’s less than speedy ICC 25 progression, my gear is not getting upgraded as quickly as I’d like. It was really fantastic to have fairly quick access to a nice ring like this from rep. The proc is really just the icing on the cake; even without it, I’d be happily wearing it. I don’t have access to enough gear to be really picky.

It’s just useful to be aware of how low the proc rate is so I know what to expect.

2 Responses to “Disappointing Proc Rate on the Ashen Verdict Tank Ring”


  1. 1 Sidu February 26, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Well, I still use the Black Heart – on my PvP build. Nothing like a 7k armour proc to let me fear/nuke that annoying melee wannabe lock killer :D

  2. 2 Jenifer July 13, 2013 at 3:49 am

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and
    checking back frequently!


Leave a Reply

About The Author

Tankadin Errant is a blog written by Anafielle, a paladin tank on Drenden - US Alliance side. (Armory)

Twitter Updates

  • I'm sending invites to individuals, not to men plus unnamed possessions. It bothers me that that nomenclature is still normal. It's 2017... 1 week ago
  • Filling out a template for wedding addresses is really bothering me. I don't want to address anyone I love as "Mr & Mrs [Man's Name]" 1 week ago
  • How 2 cat: be cute all the time https://t.co/0AsWjJJ5RJ 1 week ago
  • Cat life every day https://t.co/z268FNl775 1 week ago
  • At least now I know they are real and the sugar water isn't being eaten by something else! 1 week ago
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

