Defense and Defense Rating

Are you a new tank wondering how to gear? Let me help you.

1) CAP DEFENSE.
2) Gem for Stam. (once you have CAPPED DEF.)
3) No, seriously, you did cap your def, right?

“What is defense rating?”Wowwiki

Your Defense skill determines whether a boss can critically hit you. Heroic bosses are level 82, and you need 535 defense to make yourself uncrittable. Raid bosses are level 83, so you need 540 defense to be uncrittable in raids.

Gear has “defense rating” on it, and 4.92 defense rating = 1 point of “defense skill”. So the math works like this:
— You need +665 Defense Rating to tank heroics (that’s 535 def)
— You need +689 Defense Rating to tank raids (that’s 540 def)

“That is so much defense!!! How do I get there?”

Get crafted defense gear from a blacksmith – the cheap blue Saronite stuff will do. Gem exclusively +16 Defense gems until you’ve reached the cap. (Then, you may gem stam.)

“So I am almost capped. I have like 525 def. Can’t I tank a heroic?!”

No. Get more crafted gear. Gem more Def. I know, it hurts. Your HP pool will look low. But your #1 priority is to cap def.

This is something that was tough for me to understand when I first hit 80, because I wanted to tank and my HP pool looked so low, and it was so frustrating to spend all my gem slots on def gems…. but def is not an optional priority.

It’s not like melee capping hit – if you are a DPS class without hit capped, you’ll miss some and your DPS won’t be great. If you tank without being def capped, the boss can crit you and your healer will have a heart attack and you will probably die and everyone will wipe.

“Whatever, I can’t cap it yet. Screw you, I’m going to go tank H Nexus!”

Yeah, I was guilty of doing this. I tanked some heroics before I was capped, and I never wiped any runs due to being crittable. It’s bad, but you can do it.

“I am overcapped. What a waste!”

No way! More Def than the cap isn’t a bad thing at all. It’s a great avoidance stat and increases your chance to block, parry, and dodge across the board. Once you have reached the cap, don’t be afraid of going a few points over it.

3 Responses to “Defense and Defense Rating”


  1. 1 nofuneral December 27, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Stacking stamina might make you look more appealing, but I’d recommend getting your dodge rating up, and then your parry rating. Gem for stamina in an blue slot sure, but for others get more mitigation stats. Also, going over the defense “cap” isn’t bad, but if you can, bring your defense down in exchange for other mitigation stats where possible. 10 dodge will be much fore effective than 10 defense after the cap, etc etc. Great post, I enjoyed reading it!

  2. 2 nofuneral December 27, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Whoa! I just realized you play on my server! Wrong faction though : ( Drenden FTW

  3. 3 Hearthstone Free Keys November 29, 2013 at 8:41 am

    Why viewers still make use of to read news papers when in this technological globe all is
    presented on web?


Leave a Reply

About The Author

Tankadin Errant is a blog written by Anafielle, a paladin tank on Drenden - US Alliance side. (Armory)

Twitter Updates

  • I'm sending invites to individuals, not to men plus unnamed possessions. It bothers me that that nomenclature is still normal. It's 2017... 1 week ago
  • Filling out a template for wedding addresses is really bothering me. I don't want to address anyone I love as "Mr & Mrs [Man's Name]" 1 week ago
  • How 2 cat: be cute all the time https://t.co/0AsWjJJ5RJ 1 week ago
  • Cat life every day https://t.co/z268FNl775 1 week ago
  • At least now I know they are real and the sugar water isn't being eaten by something else! 1 week ago
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

