Lich King Blues

My 10 man raid hit the Lich King last night for the third serious time. It ended ….. poorly. I really wish we could take the same group every week, but real life keeps getting in the way and we’ve always got two rotating spots.

Sindragosa was a pain again this week. I’ll look forward to the day when we can kill her without losing anyone to the AE, without messing up ice blocks, and without killing her right on the enrage. Anyways, we had about two hours on LK last night with two people who’d not seen the fight before.

Well, not all was bad. I privately compete with two other 10 man teams on the server run by friends, and I know we’re doing better than both. One of them can’t get out of phase one due to cleansing troubles, and the other is still stuck on Sindragosa. So that’s a yay! \o/ At least we’re on phase 2.

For reference, my 10 man usually 2 heals but switches to three for K. We have two pally tanks (I am the OT) and 5 DPS around 6k.

Phase One

Phase one is easy as long as the offtank cleanses herself on time (lawl). We haven’t had a rogue to FoK Tricks me for two weeks, and I was worried about grabbing enough ghouls, but it doesn’t honestly seem to matter. The MT always ended up with most of them while I grab as many as I could, and even a few ghouls on me was just fine. Phase 1 is easy for is now.

The MT is often complaining that Arthas jumps around if the adds are tanked too close- yay for unfixed positioning bugs! So I end up backing up a bit more than I expected at first. This makes it a little bit more difficult to grab ghouls – and if I get too far away, I can’t really get back without being extremely careful about where I point Shambling Horrors. So I often find myself with just 2 or 3 ghouls & too far away from the MT for my cleave damage to pick up more.

This worried me at first. But after a while I realized – it’s ok.

I keep encountering this situation in tanking – a problematic situation is sometimes much easier to deal with if I just relax, don’t panic, and avoid overcorrecting. It’s OK if I’m a bit further away. My raid is smart and knows how to run over to the adds to get cleansed, even if they have to run a few extra steps. If I’m really short on ghouls, I can just taunt a few, or warn my MT on vent and RD him, or RD off a dps or healer if they snag some ghouls. By the time I’m short on ghouls, phase 1 is almost over and plague has jumped enough that it’s gonna kill my second Horror just fine when it hits him.

I roll Seal of Command in p1 since I like the cleave effect to pick up ghouls.

We didn’t bother to tranq any of the Horror enrages. I just saved my stuns. Between Holy Wrath, Captain America Shield, and Hammer of Justice, I was fine.

Anyways, like I said, phase 1 was easy. Our healers especially appreciated the fact that we had a disc priest along this week. Apparently his bubbles are OP for Infest.

Phase Transition

Things that make Phase Transition more interesting: OT forgets to cleanse herself! \o/ Or, ranged runs towards OT as she is clearing herself of the raid to cleanse herself! No, don’t do that! I only have a few seconds to clear myself of the raid, don’t make my life harder! Anyways…. the phase transition is not difficult for us either.

Our lock solos the ice spheres.

Raging Spirits seem to die with agonizing slowness. I don’t know why they die so slowly. Our DPS is not low – although we are very, very used to 2 healing everything, so it’s odd to have one less DPS. Maybe they have a ton of HP – I don’t know. I’m always looking at percentages. I guess they must be pretty hard to kill.

The MT takes the first one, and I usually grab both the second and third. In practice, this means I’m tanking two at full HP as the LK moves into Phase 2.

Phase Two

Phase two is made much more fun and interesting by the fact that I have never seen all my spirits die before we wipe. I get into phase 2 with two very live spirits on me; the best we’ve done is kill one. Therefore I spend the whole time tanking hard-hitting adds with an awesome frontal silence! I drag them to the center, pile them on Arthas, and strafe over- so the adds are sitting on top of the LK but they’re not facing the raid or the MT. And theoretically they get burned down first, before the Valkyr comes out and becomes a priority.

The Valkyrs are problematic. They have a ton – just an absolute ton – of HP. I mean it. Damn things don’t die. I try to get a Hammer of Justice on them; if I see someone stun them first, I wait and throw my HoJ when I see theirs wear off. At least, that’s how it should go. We seem to be pretty short on snares. I did a WOL search though and all three of our pallies – me, the MT, and our pally healer – are stunning them. What other snares do we have access to? IDK… the fucking things just don’t die fast enough.

We managed to save one or two raidmembers this week, which was an improvement over last week.

And we also managed to not cover the entire floor with Defile four out of seven times! \o/

Look, it’s the little things that count, OK?

Final Note

A clarification on my Raging Spirit whining.

I realize that the third one spawns right before Quake; the mechanics of the fight are such that I will always have that third one in phase 2. Here is my problem with them. I end up in the center in phase 2 with an add at 100% and one around 80%. IN PHASE 2. The valkyr spawns when one raging spirit is half dead and the other is untouched. So yeah… my opinion is that DPS on them is being slow right now >>

14 Responses to “Lich King Blues”


  1. 1 Call_me_Swarly March 22, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    Good post, I can definitely relate on Sindragosa as even when we kill her relatively quickly it’s still ugly as hell. We’re currently struggling in pretty much the same spot on 25. One thing that may help is to set up your stuns for the Valks. Stuns on them suffer pretty steep DR, so while a HoJ right off the bat will stun them for 6 seconds, following ones will stun for only 3 or even 1 second. If people are using short stuns as soon as they spawn it could be problematic. Good luck with your next set of attempts!

    • 2 anafielle March 22, 2010 at 5:57 pm

      Hmmm. I suggested precisely that on vent last night, “Should we set up a rotation for stuns?” and got shot down. Everyone just started talking about what they were doing.

      I think I might suggest it to my MT again though. We gotta organize how they are being slowed, or they’ll never get killed.

      Thanks for the comment :D

  2. 3 Rhidach March 22, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I challenge you to a race around the world! … wait, no, a race to the first LK kill. I feel I might be outmatched though, with my one night of 10mans a week and your juggling 5 raids at once. ;)

    • 4 anafielle March 22, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      Psh. You might raid less, but you do one hell of a lot better than my raiding. An interesting challenge – I accept!

      Gotta say, since we still want to clear the whole place every week for gear, two nights a week is very very useful. Judging by your blog, we also tend to be significantly less inebriated in our 10 man raids.

      Which is kind of a negative, come to think of it! Drunk LK….. the drinking game can go like this:

      - Drink every time someone fucks up defile.

      We’d last three pulls, max.

  3. 5 Weezi April 5, 2010 at 12:53 am

    Made any recent progress?

  4. 6 Asfalore April 23, 2010 at 6:38 am

    It sounds like your DPS will be the major hurdle to overcome. If you enter phase 2 with one Raging Spirit on 100% and one on 80%, you probably don’t have enough DPS to down the Valkyrs. For us, this was a problem as well until everyone got the hang of the fight.

    You’ll definitely need a CC rotation on the Valkyrs – the diminishing returns are very unforgiving. Try and see what kinds of CC you have available in your raid, even the less-used ones such as druid stuns can really help here.

    As you run with two pallytanks, agreeing when to use your HoJs can make a big difference in the CCing department. I’m in much the same situation as you, in that i run together with a fellow pallytank on 10-mans as well. In our group, the MT takes the first HoJ, the OT takes the second (hopefully, he’ll be rid of his Raging Spirit by then). Works like a charm, especially if you keep your holy frisbee off CD to whack Valkyrs. We found that the 10 secs daze is brilliant for slowing them.

  5. 7 Achloryn September 7, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    3 stuns is all you can get on the valks before the DR makes them immune (or maybe its 4, but the 4th stun lasts almost no time at all). One thing you CAN use as well is combat slows. A mage’s cone of cold or slow (Specced), a feral druid’s Infected Wounds (specced), a DK’s improved icy talons (Specced), a shaman’s earthbind totem (don’t quote me on that), a rogue with crippling poison, etc etc. Also, if you have a warlock in the raid, they can stay near the edge with their summoning circle up. If they’re grabbed, the DPS can ignore them, and they can teleport themselves back to the circle after being dropped without dying.

  6. 8 Achloryn September 7, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    …../facepalm I should really look at the dates of these things before posting comments.

  7. 9 Rinuk September 9, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    We were having the same problem going into phase 2. As for the Valks we had good luck having the pally OT switch to seal of justice and judgment of justice. It is random but since it is on a separate DR from HoJ the extra stuns help a ton.

  8. 10 Sil October 12, 2010 at 4:16 am

    I you do 3 stuns your raid is really spoiled and should dps faster.

    For the Valkyrs I am generally tanking the LK and do the first stun on the valkyr at the same time. . Then the dps chain the snares, roots etc.

    If you reliably taunt all raging spirits in transition phases you have done the most difficult in the encounter if you ask me. Personally I love to have a rogue/hunter in case I am silenced and can not taunt fast enough.

    I feel your pain on Sindragosa I am really frustrated that we can’t count on a 100% success rate in 2-3 tries.

    Thanks for the ICC travel tip I’ll try it.

  9. 11 Landon Blare z January 5, 2012 at 3:28 am

    I will not be alone in this as Ian, who I met whilst volunteering in Uganda, will be there at the same time.

  10. 12 fms January 24, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Palmetto ? This, There is good?Beaten to death, to it Its.A regular flex, hemorrhoids cream or.Via the portal fms, from Galicia and that improves the.The skin under, easily Taking diet.,

  11. 13 sales techniques January 17, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find
    this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  12. 14 cold calling systems February 17, 2013 at 7:16 am

    Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of
    this your broadcast provided bright clear concept


Leave a Reply

About The Author

Tankadin Errant is a blog written by Anafielle, a paladin tank on Drenden - US Alliance side. (Armory)

Twitter Updates

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

