Blood Queen Lanathel (10) Zerg Strategy

I’d like to make a short post here about our BQL 10 strategy, because people tend to look at me like I’m completely insane when I describe how we do this.


This is what we do.

We use a zerg-like strategy – two heals, six DPS, a tank, and an “off tank” in DPS gear (me). This stresses the healers, but allows us to put enough DPS on the boss to take her down before she hits the second air phase.

Tanking & Offtanking BQL

The OT takes damage from two things – Delerious Slash, a nasty DOT; and Blood Mirror, which mirrors the damage the MT takes in the form of pure shadow damage.

There are basically three ways to mitigate the Offtank damage:

1) The MT can stack armor. This will reduce the size of the Blood Mirror hits to the OT.
2) The OT can stack pure stamina to absorb all that shadow damage.
3) The OT can (I hear) stack shadow resist. We haven’t tried this.

Armor is extremely helpful in this fight – the more armor the MT has, the less damage both tanks take through the Blood Mirror mechanic. Armor, of course, does nothing for the OT. His damage is pure shadow damage. The MT can hold BQL throughout the fight, or the tanks can trade her off and cycle their cooldowns to reduce total damage done.

That having been said…

We sort of throw all that out the window by putting the OT in DPS gear.

Using a DPS as Off Tank

As the offtank, I remain in Prot spec, but I throw on my Ret spec gear, my “threat” axe and my shield. I go sword/board because half my protty abilities require a shield.

This allows me to crank out about 5.5k DPS while remaining in prot spec, giving me access to prot’s superior stamina scaling & Divine Shield/Divine Guardian for the air phases.

I sit on the main tank, with Righteous Fury off, doing a modified version of my rotation to optimize my DPS. When she flies into the air, I bubble out and pop Divine Sacrifice. (I don’t use my cancel macro; the idea is to help my party!)

This works if your healers can handle those Blood Mirror hits on an “offtank” (or a pure DPS) with a health pool around 32k when all buffed up. Our heals are absurdly badass, so we do it this way.

I’m pretty sure this strat is only viable on 10 man. :)

Variations

Personally, if I’m going to be wearing DPS gear anyways, I’d rather go all the way and switch to ret spec, significantly raising my DPS. My HP pool shouldn’t suffer much from the reduced stamina scaling, although my healers about had kittens when I suggested it… I’d have to stack a little stamina to make them happier, I think.

I was instructed to stay in prot spec so I still had Divine Sacrifice, which I pop on both the first and (if we have one) second air phase. Well, imo, we have three pallies specced into DS, I should be able to do without it… but I’m not calling the shots. We do it this way, and it works.

One day, I might secretly pop into ret spec, flask up for HP, put a stam piece or two on and see if it works. :) Until then, I will just sigh and keep going half-prot half-ret…

Comments!

Is my raid the only raid that does it this way?

I thought this strat made a great deal of sense when it was explained to me. My healers are certainly able to deal with it. Our trouble with this fight was rarely with me dying; it was more with DPS figuring out how to deal with the many crazy damage-causing mechanics.

But when I tell people I off tank in my DPS gear, they look at me like I’m crazy. “OF COURSE we use two tanks!” “Why the hell don’t you stack stamina?!” or “We taunt trade to cycle through our cooldowns” are usually the responses I get.

Huh. Well, it works for us! This is a damn tightly tuned fight, even on 10 man, and if the MT & the healers are willing to sacrifice about 20k of my health pool to take my DPS up a little, I’m not going to argue.

The ICC 10 man fights aren’t nearly as unforgiving as the 25 man fights, especially for a raid in largely 25 man gear. Our strat is completely viable, if a little nerve wracking for the healers. I have a feeling this is one of those fights that will come to be single-tanked as more 10 mans get comfortable with it. Especially as the Strength of Wrynn buff increases DPS and health pools.

Please tell me if you also use a DPS as the off tank (or a DPS/tank hybrid, the way I do it). I’d like to know that we’re not the only ones!

15 Responses to “Blood Queen Lanathel (10) Zerg Strategy”


  1. 1 gud August 24, 2010 at 6:27 am

    i tank with an 1 ultralisk, heal with 1 queen and dps with 1 roach.. (10 pop) SPAWN MOAR OVERLORDĀ§!

  2. 2 anonymous October 7, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    wtf are you talking about?

  3. 3 rawr October 8, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    ^
    Seriously dude?
    I mean, the title is “Zerg Strategy”
    what the hell do you think he’s referring?

  4. 4 Aqua Sabre March 13, 2011 at 6:07 am

    yea came here with some good ole google’in certainly not looking for WoW raiding strats and where are you zerglings man you’re always going to need speedlings early game
    anyway if you came here looking for zerg strategies just ehad on over to
    http://www.fortheswarm.org/
    Zerg strategy forum great communty
    tell em Aqua Sabre sent you

  5. 5 singapore Sports June 6, 2013 at 1:55 am

    I do not even know the way I finished up here,
    however I assumed this put up was good. I do not recognize who you might be however
    definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you happen to are
    not already. Cheers!

  6. 6 back pain singapore June 7, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Fantastic website. Lots of helpful info here. I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.

    And certainly, thank you to your effort!

  7. 7 IELTS Preparation in Singapore June 9, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to look it over.

    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to
    my followers! Exceptional blog and wonderful design and style.

  8. 8 B&B Singapore June 9, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your website offered us with valuable information to work on.
    You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  9. 9 hultquist jewellery sale July 4, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    After I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when
    new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I get four
    emails with the exact same comment. There has to be a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

  10. 10 solar power chargers July 27, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    Hi there, I just became aware of your blog via MSN, and found that it is truly informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for updates. I will appreciate if you continue the good work in the future. Lots of people will benefit from your writing. Thanks and more thanks!

  11. 11 solar battery charger iphone August 6, 2013 at 8:01 am

    I’m a student just learning more about this business and I really enjoyed reading this. Continue the good work! Regards!

  12. 12 solar powered car battery charger August 7, 2013 at 12:12 am

    You created some good points right there. I did a search on the subject and discovered most of the people will agree
    with your blog. Very much appreciated!

  13. 13 Champion Rings by Legend Rings April 24, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    Hey there, that was a really good summary! Lots of beneficial advice,
    I am glad that I spotted it.

    I am going to bookmark your web site! :-)

  14. 14 My site May 17, 2014 at 4:15 pm

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing
    to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they plainly do
    not know about. You managed to hit the nail
    upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing
    without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks


  1. 1 Latest zerg strat news – Blood Queen Lanathel (10) Zerg Strategy « Tankadin Errant Trackback on December 11, 2010 at 2:25 am

Leave a Reply

About The Author

Tankadin Errant is a blog written by Anafielle, a paladin tank on Drenden - US Alliance side. (Armory)

Twitter Updates

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

