Divine Sacrifice, my new BFF

I am shocked by how long I tanked with talent points in this skill without ever using it.

Not the current, redesigned Divine Sac. I’m talking about the old Divine Sac. Think back to patch 3.0, 3.1, even 3.2 – the “Push this button for a good time” version of Divine Sac with a big red chance of death sign attached.

It kind of reminded me of the way Engineering items are taglined in the game. “Absorbs X percent of damage taken by raid members. Occasionally results in death, so don’t forget your bring your bubble!”

I realized soon after I started raiding that there was literally never a situation where I felt comfortable popping a skill as scary as DS. Oh, I’m sure it used to have its uses, but I guess I was too noob to know them. If I was tanking something, the extra damage was way too worrisome to contemplate. If I wasn’t tanking something, I still worried about killing myself. What if the healers didn’t compensate?

So Divine Sac sat on my bar, completely ignored, until 3.3 came along and changed things forever.

Patch 3.3 and the Divine Sacrifice/Guardian redesign.

Oh, how things change. First of all, the damage redirection became party-only and much, much safer. More importantly, those extra 2 points in Divine Guardian added a raid-wide damage prevention aura that lasts the entire 6 seconds regardless of when the spell gets cancels.

Enter the Cancel Macro. You are probably familiar with this if you have your bubble on a macro to clear debuffs. The Divine Sac macro is precisely the same:

#showtooltip
/cancelaura Divine Sacrifice
/cast Divine Sacrifice

Spam that button twice. You cancel the party redirect part, so no extra damage to you. Your whole raid takes 20% decreased damage for 6 seconds.

Wow. Holy shit. Read that again. A 20% raid wall. On a two minute cooldown. And it can be triggered at no personal risk to the tank. There is absolutely no reason not to use this all the freaking time.

It took me a long time to figure this out. Maybe I’m a slow tank. That’s why I’m posting about it now. I just started using Divine Sac a while lot about a month ago, and I can’t believe it took me so long to understand how amazing this spell has become.

Once Ignored, Now Beloved

Divine Sac was a completely neglected part of my tanking arsenal pre-3.3. Now its one of my absolute favorite abilities.

I pop it at least once on every raid boss. Even in farm content, I pop it because just it’s there and I can. No, seriously, that’s my reasoning. It’s there, and I can push it. Why not? Yeah, that’s right, this might be 10 man Marrogar and we could down this in our sleep, but I’m going to Divine Sac this bone storm just because I can. I do more than roll my face across the keyboard – sometimes I push interesting buttons, too!

I usually try to use it twice per boss fight. Its two minute cooldown happens to lines up flawlessly with several heavy raid damage times in ICC like BQL’s Air phase and Festergut’s Exhale Blight. I pop it early in a fight if I know I want it available later. Hell, if heals are light and I’m in sketchy tank gear, I use that thing in Pit of Saron when tanking those BK-phase-3-like mobs just before the final boss!

Divine Sacrifice and I are now BFF. I put it in a special place on my action bar.

Some Places where I use Divine Sac in ICC:

Marrogar: Bone Storm. Or, if tons of healers get spiked!
Deathwhisper: Phase 3, when the spirits start spawning.
Saurfang: After he hits Frenzy, when he gets high on BP.
Stinky & Precious: Don’t forget DS on these minibosses! Shortly after a Decimate.
Festergut: Pungent Blight. DS is back up for each one.
Rotface: Late in the fight when the slimes are spawning really fast.
Princes: On a Valanyr activation. I like popping it here better than on a Keleseth activation because theoretically the only person who should take damage when Keleseth is active is the ranged tank, and he’s getting other sorts of cooldowns.
BQL: Bloodbolt Whirl. DS is back up for each air phase. I usually bubble out of the first fear.
Valithra: on a Blazing Skeleton.
Sindragosa: Blistering Cold. Especially Phase 3, just before a tank (and hopefully no one else) eats a Blistering Cold.

When do you use Divine Sac? When should I be using it?

7 Responses to “Divine Sacrifice, my new BFF”


  1. 1 Crankytanky May 25, 2010 at 12:55 am

    Great idea, I hope you don’t mind thank I copied your spec. Great blog, keep up the good work!

  2. 2 aissa June 5, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Thank you for writing about this! :) I am leveling a pali and I am trying to learn as much about them as possible.

  3. 3 Dekion August 3, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    I have Sifted through google trying to find a website that would correctly explain Divine Sacrifice to me to no avail until I came here. Your writing style is clear, succinct, and funny.

    I never specced into Div Sac because I simply never fully understood it. When and when not to use it. Thanks. Keep up the good work.

  4. 4 live cricket news November 19, 2011 at 9:36 am

    What a truly joy of a piece!!!

  5. 5 Locksmith Sidcup June 30, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    Good day very cool site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb .
    . I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I’m glad to seek out a lot of useful info right here in the submit, we want develop more strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  6. 6 Locksmith Sidcup July 8, 2013 at 3:11 am

    Terrific work! This is the type of info that are supposed to
    be shared around the net. Disgrace on the seek engines for no longer positioning this
    submit upper! Come on over and consult with my web site . Thanks =)

  7. 7 Rebecca April 23, 2014 at 6:24 pm

    Description: Locksmith Broklyn is a local installation service provider of
    the different types of the locking systems.
    In order to leave the home in a tension fee way one has to install a good locking
    system so that no one can break in. In addition locksmiths
    are offered 24 hrs a day 365 days a year so thaqt they can suypply
    their services even at off instances.


Leave a Reply

About The Author

Tankadin Errant is a blog written by Anafielle, a paladin tank on Drenden - US Alliance side. (Armory)

Twitter Updates

  • grumble grumble 4 days ago
  • I speak from experience; when my employer covered all but $60/mo, I had no idea what it was like without that. OH WELL... 4 days ago
  • RT @quoriwow: @Anafielle the only people that think our system is fine either make money off it or are mindless sheep. 4 days ago
  • For all you people whose only concept of health insurance is as a bonus through your employer... sorry but you do not understand. 4 days ago
  • But that is a shitty way to think and the fact that the american system promotes this mercenary view of our own health is horrible. 4 days ago
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

